Bergoz Instrumentation Print

Bergoz Instrumentation develops and manufactures current transformers, current transducers, current monitoring devices and electronic instrumentation for current measurement and elementary particle beams diagnostics, non-destructively. Bergoz instruments are found in applications as diverse as high energy particle accelerators, in research and medicine, on synchrotron radiation light sources, on ion implanters used for materials surface modification, on conformance test benches, to measure partial discharge, corona, isolation breakdown, and many more.

New Products

Turbo-ICT & BCM-RF

Designed and optimized for:

  • Low beam current <20mA
  • Low bunch charge <100pC


New ACCT Electronics with improved robustness

Provided with a linear power supply, mounted on DIN rail

Available in High-Resolution and Wide-Band versions


Vibrating Wire Monitor for Beam transverse profile/position & Beam Halo measurement

The instrument's output is a digital value proportional to the number of particles hitting the wire. Data communication is provided via USB. Example software is provided.

Principle of operation: The VWM is based on the wire's resonant frequency dependance on its tension, which is dependent on its temperature.



Laser-plasma. October 2014, LOASIS at Berkeley Nat’l Lab. and Bergoz Instrumentation agree to collaborate to develop a new transformer for BELLA. Objective is pulse charge measurement down to 1pC with 10fC resolution. Results to be published at LPAW May 2015.

XFEL. December 2014, Turbo-ICT developed in collaboration with PSI SwissFEL succeeds at measuring sub-femtosecond pulses below 10pC with 1% resolution. Yet, absolute calibration error below 1% is not yet attained: ~2% est.error. Eight Turbo-ICT are delivered to Pohang XFEL after they tested it successfully.

Conferences & Awards

IPAC'15 Richmond VA, May 4-8, 2015

LPAW Guadeloupe, May 11-16, 2015

FEL'15 Daejon, August 23-28, 2015

IBIC'15 Melbourne, September 14-18, 2015

Initiator, with Dick Witkover BNL, of the Faraday Cup

Initiator, with Jose Alonso, of the Brightness Award

Initiator, with Wim Leemans, of the Advanced Accelerator Concepts Prize